The Navesink Twin Lights is a non-operational lighthouse and museum located in Highlands, New Jersey. It overlooks Sandy Hook Bay, the entrance to the New York Harbor and the Atlantic Ocean. The Twin Lights, as the name implies, are a pair of beacons located 246 feet (75 m) above sea level on the headlands of the Navesink Highlands.
In 1962, the State of New Jersey acquired Twin Lights. At the current museum facility, tours of the lighthouse, a climb of the North Tower and its expansive ocean view, and a view of the lighthouse equipment, await visitors. Twin Lights is listed on the State and National Register of Historic Places.
The Twin Lights State Historic Site is part of the New Jersey Coastal Heritage Trail Route.
The original Twin Lights were built in 1828 and were replaced in 1862 with a new structure made from brown stone that has the appearance of a fortress.
During the rehabilitation in 1841 a cannon was found buried on the lighthouse grounds. Today it is in front of the Keeper’s quarters and is now known as the "Mystery Cannon" of Twin Lights.
In 1899, Guglielmo Marconi placed an antenna and receiving station at the lighthouse to demonstrate his Wireless Telegraph.
Twin Lights holds a prominent place in American maritime history it is an excellent tour and a great learning experience and admission is free.
Twin Light Historical Society
254 State Route 36
Highlands, NJ 07732